Danes Specialty Coffee wins big at Australian International Coffee Awards

danes lrg 1024x683

BeanScene Magazine has featured Danes as Champion Australian Roaster again for 2019

The Champion Australian Roaster trophy was awarded to Danes Specialty Coffee, making 2019 the second year in a row that the New South Wales roaster took home the prize. 

Conducted annually by the Royal Agricultural Society of Victoria (RASV), the AICA was the first international coffee roasting competition in Australia, receiving 805 entries from 151 local and international coffee roasters including coffees from Australia, NZ, China, Greece, Hong Kong, the United States, Maldives, and more.

“The ACIA is a terrific example of our vision to identify the best of the best in the food and beverage industry. The esteemed awards garner overwhelming interest and submissions from coffee roasters all around the world and we look forward to continuing to distinguish and celebrate award worthy coffee for years to come,” RASV CEO, Paul Guerra says.

A total of 330 medals were awarded including 15 gold, 100 silver and 215 bronze, over three days of judging which took place at the Melbourne Showgrounds from 20 to 22 March, with a panel of industry experts led by Head Judge Melissa Caia assessing the entries.

“The AICA are an important measure used to recognise the high level of coffee quality within the industry. The awards ultimately drive coffee buyers to look for products that have had industry professionals critique the roasts and blends to give their quality approval. It drives the roasting profession and entrants to keep developing their processes and continue to look for ways to improve the products they are selling, ultimately providing the highest quality of coffee to the public,” Melissa says.

2019 Australian International Coffee Awards Champion Trophies 

Champion Australian Roaster – Danes Specialty Coffee, New South Wales, Australia 

Gold Medal for Espresso Blend – Ascension, Danes Specialty Coffee, New South Wales, Australia

Gold Medal in the Single Origin, Filter – Kenya Gakundu, Danes Specialty Coffee, New South Wales, Australia

For more information about the Champion Trophy winners click here.


This article was originally published on BeanScene magazine April 2019.

Join our flavour tribe

Be introduced to our latest origins, brew info, what’s new, events and more.